How to avoid unnecessary stress?

Image (22)

Nowadays, we are becoming stressed of being stressed….Well-being, relaxation, yoga and meditation are on everyone’s lips, yet we still find it hard to resist external stress factors.

The reason might be that we create so much unnecessary stress for ourselves every day that we are no longer able to distinguish between the good stress (the adrenaline we need before a project presentation or an interview) and the bad stress (small issues that can take a huge proportion when we are tired, such as: organizing a week end, taking care of Admin stuff, doing groceries, planning meals). Therefore we are drained much quicker as we use most of our energy for the “bad stress” instead of using it to deal with the “good stress”.

For example, my boss asked me on Facebook yesterday, and I totally freaked out, thinking: “I can’t accept him, Facebook is too personal”, but then also worrying about being rude if I declined his friend’s request…. And after speaking to a friend, I realized that I was creating unnecessary stress for myself, and that I shouldn’t care about what other people thought. So either I would accept him or I wouldn’t. It wasn’t the end of the world. And if he asked me why I didn’t accept him, I would find a way to tell him nicely that I didn’t want him to discover my whole private life!

I think the key element in avoiding unnecessary stress for yourself is first and foremost to identify where you stress currently comes from. For instance, I know that most of my stress comes from my relationships with others. I typically ask myself so many questions about how I should behave or react in front of others, in order not to deceive or hurt them… But in the end I know that it is a total waste of time and energy…. I am natural and spontaneous, and trusting my instincts will help me a lot more than worrying about possible scenarios.

Besides, caring less about insignificant things will make you feel so much lighter, as you will have more time to focus on positive and creative thinking!

So just give it a try, and I promise you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

