My scale and I

Image (12)

Our relationship is a very long story of love and hatred

It’s probably been 6 or 7 years since I’ve been weighing myself  EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. And up to 6 times a day. After eating breakfast/ lunch/ dinner/ before and after going to the loo. And I know it is ridiculous. But I just can’t help it.

And I am super happy when my weight goes down. On the other hand, when I realize that I’ve gained a few grams, or kilos, it feels like the end of the world. I feel useless, powerless, and all I wanna do is burry myself.
It is so hard for me to lose weight that the mere thought of gaining weight feels extremely scary as immediately I think about how I am going to lose it back…

But in reality, your scale is far from being your best friend. In fact, it contributes massively to getting you trapped into a vicious circle of restricting and bingeing.

So today, after good reflection, and upon my friend’s advice to stop berating myself about those 2 kilos I gained, I have decided to remove the battery out of my scale, and to hide it. For real. I will try to last as long as I can. In any case, one more day without weighing myself will be another small victory!

In fact, when I look at thin people around me, none of them ever weighs themselves…! They just use their natural instinct, and by trusting their body, they can go back to their natural “set point”.

So I will try to give this experience a go, and hopefully it will help me relax, and forget about this food obsession I have at the moment….

I will keep you posted on the results!

Leave a Reply

