12 ways to externalize your emotions

Image (2).jpgIn a previous post I mentioned how important it is to allow yourself to feel your feelings… But sometimes our feelings and emotions can be overwhelming and we may end up turning to simplistic solutions to cope with it, even if it is of more harm to us (e.g. food/ alcohol binges, violent words or acts).

So let me give you some ideas to help you externalize your emotions in a harmless manner…

Depending on your mood, you can try one of the below tips. But this list is not exhaustive…!

  1. Scream 
  2. Write
  3. Sing
  4. Dance
  5. Cook
  6. Go get a massage
  7. Listen to music
  8. Call a friend or a sibling
  9. Do some sport
  10. Get some fresh air
  11. Have a hot shower
  12. Take a nap

I can guarantee that it works… I used to keep my emotions for myself, and very often when I had food binges, I didn’t even think that it could be due to my buried emotions…

And then I decided to get these out of my head, so I started to scream when I was angry (it scared my boyfriend to death), and to write when I felt anxious. I was also singing and dancing whenever I felt super happy (for instance when I got a job offer!)…

And now when I feel stressed I go get a massage or take a hot shower…It helps me reconnect with myself. When I feel tired, I allow myself to take a nap, or go to bed early, instead of feeling grumpy later on…

And when I need to think, I go do some sports or get some fresh air…When I am bored, I listen to the music I love, or I watch a movie.
Finally, when I’m lonely, I always call one of my sisters, or a friend, and I feel so much better afterwards !!

So just give it a try, and see which solution is best for you!

Leave a Reply

