Changing vs. Escaping?

change collage

I’ve been asked quite often if my desire to live abroad and to keep changing environments was not a disguised way of wanting to escape from something… And it’s a fair question.

I can assure that I am trying to escape from routine, monotony, narrow-mindedness, hypocrisy and lack of tolerance… But other than that, I am not trying to flee from my family and friends… Change is just part of me. Dreams, Projects and Challenges keep me alive! They make me happy, and I came to realize last year-thanks to my eating disorder psychotherapist – that change has a huge positive effect on my mood.

Maybe this is because I hate to feel trapped… I have had several nightmares in the past about people trying to force me into a jar and closing the lid….As if others were dictating my life somehow.

Changing (jobs/places/friends, etc…) helps me define who I am, and what I believe in.

Some of my relatives have told me how brave they thought I was when I was dropping everything to go live in another continent… but what’s funny is that for my part, I was actually admiring them for simply enjoying their bits of daily bliss. I could never have settled in like them, and decided to live in one place for the rest of my life…

However, it is crucial to cherish what you currently have instead of continuously wanting more and dreaming of being somewhere else. Otherwise, leaving a life on the run is going to leave you feel miserable. This will become an endless pattern where you will never feel satisfied and you will never be able to appreciate the present…. And humans are made to build connections and live in society…not to become lonely wolves!

In a nutshell, don’t be afraid to embrace change, as long as you know what’s driving it and if it will make you happy. And the moment when you realize that your desires are binding you and preventing you from fully enjoying your life, then it may be time to start asking yourself what you are really after in life…. As freedom from desires will lead to freedom from suffering.

Leave a Reply

