Be yourself…

Image

…everything else is just too complicated !

Life isn’t a competition. So stop comparing yourself to others, as it will only hurt you more.

Even though you keep trying to get to know yourself better, you do have your own identity. There is no point denying what you truly believe in only to please others.

For instance, don’t be afraid to say “No” when someone asks you something that you really don’t feel like doing. If your friends are smart, they will understand. Otherwise it may be time to question your friendship. Of course you need to try new things, but you also have to know your limits.

I am not afraid to say that I don’t enjoy watching the World Cup rugby games … as much as the players look handsome. But I just get bored, and I don’t understand anything even though my boyfriend explained me the rules a thousand times…

I also hate drinking beer, which can be quite problematic in the UK. However I don’t want to pretend like I do. So I still meet some friends at the Pub every now and then, but I stick to my glass of wine!
And nobody ever got upset about it.

On the other hand, I cannot live without sport. It doesn’t matter who I am with, or what event I am attending, I will always find a way to go for a run or a swim in the sea! I can’t help it. I need this adrenaline shot!

It just doesn’t make sense to deny who you are… and as we say, “What’s bred in the bone will come out in the flesh”.

If you’re the kind of person who wakes up early in the morning no matter what time they go to bed, once you meet someone, you won’t be able to pretend like you’re a late sleeper and stay awake for hours in the bed waiting for your other half to wake up…

It doesn’t mean you shouldn’t respect other people’s habits. But feel free to be yourself!

Leave a Reply

