Rainy days

light and rainOn Wednesday I woke up and it was raining already… Having lived in London for 3 years now, it is not something unusual, but it still does affect my mood. Why is the sky so sad? Is it telling me something about myself ? Does that mean it’s gonna be a bad day? Hmm, that’s the typical self-questioning of a girl who lacks self-confidence… The truth is, it started off as as bad day.

I logged into my online bank account as soon as I woke up, as we were the 28th, which meant: PAY DAY !! I always feel so excited about these days! Except that I got a bad surprise that day…only half of my salary had been transferred for the month of October…That really put me in a bad mood.

An hour later, I was on my way to work (on foot), and I was already 15 mins away from the house, when I suddenly realized I forgot to take the lunch I had prepared… This really pissed me off, as I usually never bring a home-made lunch…I was so proud of myself for those gnocchis I had cooked…

For some reason I really didn’t want to get ripped off that day, so I ran back home, packed my bento and started to walk to work for the 2nd time… And I knew I was going to be late for my 1-to-1 meeting at 8:30am. Damn it.

But when I got to work, I didn’t even feel guilty for arriving a bit later…The floor was quite empty. My boss was in a good mood, and the person I was supposed to meet wasn’t even there! My colleagues were joking, and suddenly I got into a good mood again… Especially after talking to HMRC and discovering that they owed me quite a large amount of money…Bingo!

As a matter of fact, rainy days can turn out to be happy days!!

Leave a Reply

